Monday, April 23, 2018

Patience and persistence


The constant rush of waves and shifting sands
can split even the hardest stone.
Patience and persistence
will help us meet our goals...

Sunday, April 22, 2018

Saturday, April 21, 2018

Sun behind the clouds


Even on the darkest days
when you can't see any way out,
the sun still hides behind the clouds,
and occasionally breaks through.

Friday, April 20, 2018

Listen for the peace


Close your eyes, open your heart, and listen:
Listen for the spark that fuels humanity.
Listen for the truth that drives us forward into light.
Listen for the love that cradles us when we fall.
Listen for the peace that lies beneath the waves.

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Lessons to be learned


What if, instead of turning your back on your pain,
you could face it and ask what it has to teach you?

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Growing into the light


Lift up your eyes and dry those tears:
we're all growing into the light.
What branches we lose along the way
let that much more light through to those around us.

Tuesday, April 17, 2018

Reconciliation

Breathe in, and breathing in, breathe in a different point of view.
Hold paradox: hold possible two truths -- one old, one new.
And now breathe out, and breathing out,
breathe out the harmony that pours through you...

Monday, April 16, 2018

Promise of Christmas


The camellias in my yard are blooming,
breathing the promise of Christmas into Spring.

Sunday, April 15, 2018

Divine inspiration


Whatever magnificence we bring into the world,
comes through us, never from us: we are the classic Aeolian Harp,
making music when the spirit blows through our strings.
So -- what if what we tell ourselves as artists isn't true?
What if the times we least want to create 
are the times when we most need to?

Saturday, April 14, 2018

We are the stripes


If truth is the zebra in the room, and we're all blind -- 
no wonder we can't see that dark and light can coexist; 
that we are stripes on the body of humanity.

Friday, April 13, 2018

Empathy


We will only become more fully human
when we make the effort to comprehend
how others may be thinking or feeling.

Thursday, April 12, 2018

Filters


As long as we filter what we hear
Through what we believe,
The truth will continue to elude us...

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Persevere


What is it, that has you all tied up in knots,
not knowing which way's up, or where to go?
What patience will it take, to find your way
to the root of the problem?
Never fear: persevere!

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

Promptings of the heart


Some things are such a part of us,
we cannot run away and hope they will not follow --
it only helps to sit, and listen to the promptings of the heart.

Monday, April 9, 2018

Stay alert



Stay alert; be watchful,
And hold on to your dreams...

Sunday, April 8, 2018

When opposites attract


From thesis and antithesis
To synthesis: that is the journey.
When opposites attract,
Something new and wonderful is born..

Saturday, April 7, 2018

Promise of the light



Waiting in the dark, 
buffeted by rain and wind,
Not knowing what comes next,
We learn to trust the promise of the light.

Friday, April 6, 2018

Opening to the world


However closed we are in spring, protecting all we know,
all we believe: with time there will be opening --
to thoughts we never planned to think and lives we'll never lead;
a time when we let go, releasing love into the world.

Thursday, April 5, 2018

Holy in the ordinary


Illumination may alight in the most ordinary circumstance;
it blesses the simple as well as the sublime.
Wait, and watch;  be open to the moment,
and what arises may surprise you.


Wednesday, April 4, 2018

At the edge of impossible


Come: let us stand together
at the edges of impossible,
and then we'll wade together,
out into the sea of wonder...

Tuesday, April 3, 2018

Let the spirit pour


Open to the silence.
Let the spirit pour through us, 
carving ever deeper channels 
in the bedrock of our hearts.

Monday, April 2, 2018

Muting reality


Despite our noble resolutions,
It seems all too easy to get sucked in
To the allure of our screens.
And when we do, we mute the call of reality...

Sunday, April 1, 2018

Peace


Wherever you find yourself this morning, 
I hope you also find peace.

Saturday, March 31, 2018

Lifted to the light


Even as we wait in darkness
We lift our faces to the light.

Friday, March 30, 2018

The grace of the unexpected


The problem with all this planning, with our regimented lives,
is there's not much opportunity for the grace of the unexpected.
There's so much more to life
than what we see when we're not watching...

Thursday, March 29, 2018

Opening the map


It may be time to open your internal map again;
to broaden your imagined journey,
to reach beyond the safety of familiar paths,
beyond familiar folds, so creased and worn,
beyond the edge where you have always paused and turned away...

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Invitation to silence


In the still of the morning,
an open invitation to silence...

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

Listen for the colors


Listen for the colors that float beneath the surface 
of the words you long to hear.
Within those tangled depths, will you find lies?
Or light that bubbles freely to the surface?

Monday, March 26, 2018

A momentary perfection


The cherry tree, who spends most of her year
bare, and only blossoms briefly in the spring,
reminds us to expect that perfection will be rare,
and when we're feeling barren, we're just storing up
the light we'll need for when we bloom again.

Sunday, March 25, 2018

The cycle of possibility


Lift up your eyes, and know
whatever rises will inevitably fall
and what has fallen will most certainly rise again.

Saturday, March 24, 2018

Cultivate listening


Each element in creation has a story to tell,
if only we have the patience to listen.

Friday, March 23, 2018

Deepening reflections


I like the image I see of myself
reflected in your eyes, 
but wish I could see past that
to the soul that lies beneath...

Thursday, March 22, 2018

Your inner artist



What is your inner artist looking at today,
and how will it interpret what it sees?
Whatever you create will inevitably reflect
your own projections...

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

What lifts you?


What is calling you that you're not hearing?
What are the things you've always known,
and what have you learned that only pain could teach you?
Who are you, and what lifts you above the waves?

Tuesday, March 20, 2018

Rarely black and white


In nature things are rarely black and white:
it's we who choose to see them that way,
hoping to eliminate distracting contradictions
and clarify the path we're so determined to follow.

Monday, March 19, 2018

A prayer for Spring breezes


Come, warm breath of Spring, 
and bless our yards with flowers...

Sunday, March 18, 2018

The shape of our grief


What shape our lives will take after a loss
may well define us: whether we bend and slump
or lift it to the light and let our growth be fed 
by what we've learned and how we've loved...

Saturday, March 17, 2018

When bridges fail


What happens, when we can no longer trust our bridges --
or is it just we've forgotten how to build them,
how to reach across political divides, to span the distance
from me to you, from us to them, from isolation into hope?

Friday, March 16, 2018

Puzzling out the whole

 
Like puzzle pieces, loops and whorls,
it all fits together: sea and sand, rocks and clouds,
the mountains and the valleys all combine to remind us
that we are all a part of a single whole.

Thursday, March 15, 2018

Welcoming the angles...


This one reminds me of a line from White Christmas:
"Everybody's got an angle."
Whatever our resistance to that thought,
the beauty's still that all those angles come together
to make a pleasing whole.

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

This long dark hibernation


Oh, cruel spring, to taunt us with the pansy
and then blanket us with snow again,
reminding us this long dark hibernation's
integral to building strength for what we will become.

Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Pansy delight


The weather warms, the dark earth opens
to receive new plants, and pansies press 
their furry paws to cheeks in innocent delight
at the beauty of the bird songs that surround them.

Monday, March 12, 2018

Imprinting


We go through life thinking some folks have it backwards,
when really we're the ones who've got things upside down...

Sunday, March 11, 2018

The promise of the skies


When all else fails and things look dark,
I lift my eyes and draw new hope
from the promise of the skies.

Saturday, March 10, 2018

A matter of perspective


If you feel everything you need is in this space, 
then it is not a prison; it is home, which means 
to step outside might always seem a threat...
it's all a matter of perspective.

Friday, March 9, 2018

The imminence of Spring


Sheltered by the stone,
the fragile crocuses take courage 
and proclaim the imminence of Spring.

Thursday, March 8, 2018

Illumination


Illumination comes in many forms,
not all of them as obvious as these.
But when it does arrive you'll come to realize
how very dark your world had grown without it.

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Outdated attachments


"Mine," your chains proclaim,
"all mine, and you can't have it," 
and still I wonder why you cling
to something that no longer serves its purpose...

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Look with wonder


Just as the artist watches,
seeks to capture that which makes subjects unique,
look upon the world, not with a critical eye,
but with wonder, and with appreciation.

Monday, March 5, 2018

Failure to Communicate


I can fill the world with words and phrases
And still fail to communicate
How blessed I feel
To have been loved by you.